Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu

Internships for Academic Credit

Applying for Academic Credit in COBE Majors

Please note! The deadline for academic internship credit in SPRING 2019 is February 22, 2018. All applications and approvals must be complete by this date.

Did you know that you can earn academic credit in the subject that best aligns with your internship duties?! Generally, every 45 hours worked = 1 academic credit. Registration for academic credit is subject to approval by each department internship coordinator.

It is important to connect with the appropriate department internship coordinator since some departments have specific student requirements for internship registration. These requirements might include GPA, completion of prerequisites, or attaining junior/senior status. To get started, reach out to the appropriate COBE Internship Coordinator listed in the table below.

We also recommend that you check with a COBE academic adivsor or a graduate staff member to make sure that earning academic credit for your internship fits into your degree plan.

COBE Internship Coordinators by Department

DepartmentCoordinatorEmailPhone
AccountancyFred Christensenfchriste@boisestate.edu(208) 426-1472
Business and Economic AnalyticsTim Chenowethtimchenoweth@boisestate.edu(208) 426-2901
Career Track MBATrisha Lambtrishastevenslamb@boisestate.edu(208) 426-1120
Information Technology ManagementJohn Weejohnwee@boisestate.edu(208) 426-2483
International BusinessBastian Thomsenbastianthomsen@boisestate.edu(208) 426-2633
EconomicsChris Louckscloucks@boisestate.edu(208) 426-1468
FinanceGarrett McBrayergarrettmcbrayer@boisestate.edu(208) 426-2713
Management: Human Resources, General Business, Entrepreneurship, Non ProfitGundars Kaupinsgkaupins@boisestate.edu(208) 426-4014
MarketingDavid Huntdhunt@boisestate.edu(208) 426-1514
Supply Chain ManagementRegis Terpendregisterpend@boisestate.edu(208) 426-2949

Application Process

Once you have found/applied to an internship and connected with the department coordinator, you will need to complete the following application steps to apply for academic credit.

  1. Log into your myBoiseState account.
  2. Start your electronic application by clicking the plus (+) sign next to “Internship Application for Academic Credit” on the left hand side of the application page.
  3. Fill out the application with as much detail as you are able.
  4. Submit!

After you submit, the department internship coordinator will review your application for approval. Your organization’s supervisor will also need to review and approve your application. They will both receive an email notification requesting their approval. Once your application is approved, the Registrar’s Office will added your internship to your class schedule.

Required Online Orientation

When logged into the internship application system, you will have access to the Online Internship Orientation. This orientation consists of a required video workshop and quiz. To access the workshop and quiz, click on “Internship Application for Academic Credit” on the left hand side of the application page and hit the plus (+) sign.

Important Financial Aid Information

Internship credit is billed at the same rate as academic credit, depending upon your part-time or full-time status. Be aware that there is a deadline to have your application submitted and approved if you plan to use internship credits toward your Financial Aid Eligibility. That deadline is noon on the 10th day of classes.